Contact theSOPAbout theSOPSupport theSOPWritersEditorsManaging Editors
theSOP logo
Published:July 6th, 2011 13:37 EST
Judyth Piazza chats with Curtis Harmon, New Foundation Music

Judyth Piazza chats with Curtis Harmon, New Foundation Music

By Judyth Piazza CEO (Editor)

Curtis Harmon started at the age of 8 studying drums, by the age of 12 he was playing professionally with his father`s group.

While attending Ada Lewis Middle School in Philadelphia, PA, he was a member of the school jazz band and met Cedric Napolean and James Lloyd, who along with Curtis became known as the group Pieces Of A Dream. Other than playing drums for the past 39 years, he also had training in Latin and African percussion and does background vocals. He has recorded with Grover Washington Jr., Regina Belle, George Duke, Lenny White, Maurice White & a host of other world renown artists.

Harmon`s performing career has enabled him to share the stage with such performers as Chaka Khan, Angela Bofill, the late Phyllis Hyman, George Benson, Grover Washington Jr., Phil Perry whom he still performs with, Count Bassie, Sarah Vaughn, Mercer Ellington, Nancy Wilson & the list goes on. He is the 3rd generation of musicians in his family. Grandson of the late Curtis C. Harmon who was a pianist, vibist & music professor at Temple University in Philadelphia, and son of Daniel C. Harmon who is a vibist and currently manages "Pieces".

Curtis` interests are: sports, movies, working out, cars and travel. He is an avid pool shooter and is in the top 20% of shooters in Philadelphia`s A. P. A. League.

More Information:

Goin` Places - CD One-Sheet

Stirring-the-soul and moving-the-feet are themes at the heart of New Foundation`s freshman CD, Goin` Places. Every song on the CD varies, still there`s an air of familiarity that links each tune.

Songs like "Patricia" and "Sincere" honestly and personally connect to the listener with depth and emotional heft. The realness is rare and deepens the listener`s appreciation. While tunes like "Yo Tengo Tango" , "Chocolate " and "Max Anna Split" push way pass the edge with danceable rhythms full of energetic bursts juxtaposed against the quieter moments. The sound strobes the mind with a fresh approach not often associated with the genre.

Goin` Places is lively and well paced with an unusually warm and approachable feel. Each tune has it`s place in creating the greater whole. It`s "visible" to the ear how a broader perspective on the smooth jazz genre has come from this collaboration.

New Foundation is Goin` Places, and we`re happy to be along for the ride.

Key Points:

  • Touring Throughout USA and Internationally

  • Group Available for In-stores

  • Digital Downloads available through: iTunes; CD Baby;

    Track Listing:

    1. Goin` Places

    2. Carried Away

    3. Before I Let Go

    4. Holdin` On

    5. Chocolate (plays at the end of the interview)

    6. Get Away

    7. Yo Tengo Tango

    8. Patricia (With All My Love)

    9. Sincere

    10. It Just Don`t Stop

    11. Tonight I Creep

    12. Max Anna Split