Contact theSOPAbout theSOPSupport theSOPWritersEditorsManaging Editors
theSOP logo
Published:September 6th, 2011 18:40 EST
Michigan and the NFF Jointly Honor Desmond Howard To Host Notre Dame

Michigan and the NFF Jointly Honor Desmond Howard To Host Notre Dame

By SOP newswire2

Michigan and the National Football Foundation will jointly honor Howard, a 2010 College Football Hall of Famer, as the Wolverines host Notre Dame in a historic night game.

The University of Michigan and The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today that they will jointly honor Desmond Howard with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments® , on September 10 in Ann Arbor during halftime of the game between Michigan and Notre Dame.  Coverage of the game, the first home game at night in the 133-year history of Michigan football, will start at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN.

"This is tops, it doesn`t get any better than this in college football," Howard said at the time of the announcement of induction. "To be recognized for your body of work and to start the journey as a young man switching positions from running back to wide receiver, but to end that journey here at the College Football Hall of Fame, to be a member of this class is just tremendous, I`m very humbled by it.

"I have to thank everyone who was a part of my time at Michigan as an athlete, who helped me achieve the goals that I set for myself to just become a better person and great athlete. Football`s the ultimate team sport, so I think this was an accumulation of a lot of effort on the part of a lot of people who helped me become that player."

Throughout the football season, each College Football Hall of Fame inductee returns to his school for a special on-field event, where a commemorative plaque is presented to his university for permanent display. Howard, who was inducted in 2010, had to postpone the event until this year because of his commitments as an analyst on ESPN College GameDay. This year`s night game at Michigan presented the perfect opportunity for him to return home for this special honor, which has been bestowed on every inductee since the NFF`s inaugural Hall of Fame Class in 1951.

"Desmond was as an electrifying player as there ever was in college football," said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. "His playmaking created some of the most iconic moments in college football history. We look forward to honoring Desmond under the lights at Michigan Stadium."

The 1991 Heisman Trophy winner, Michigan`s Desmond Howard became the first receiver in history to lead the Big Ten in scoring while helping the Wolverines to three conference titles and two Rose Bowls during his time in Ann Arbor. During his prolific senior season, Howard was named a consensus All-American, the Maxwell Award winner and Walter Camp Player of the Year. He finished his career with 134 receptions for 2,146 yards and 32 touchdowns and holds the Michigan record for most touchdowns (23) and points (138) scored in a single-season. A three year letterman, Howard was twice named an All-Big Ten First Team pick and still holds the Big Ten Conference single-season receiving touchdown record with 19.

Currently an analyst on ESPN College GameDay, Howard volunteers for a variety of charities that serve the needs of children. Howard and his wife Rebkah reside in Miami, Fla., with their three children.

Howard became the 29th player from Michigan to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Five coaches with ties to the school have been inducted, not including Coach Lloyd Carr, who was just announced as a member of the 2011 class. Recent inductees (with year of induction) include Dave Brown (2007), Tom Curtis (2005), James Mandich (2004), and Reggie McKenzie (2002). For a complete list of players and coaches in the hall, please visit

In addition to Howard, the 2010 College Football Hall of Fame class included Dennis Byrd (North Carolina State); Ronnie Caveness (Arkansas); Ray Childress (Texas A&M); Randy Cross (UCLA); Sam Cunningham (Southern California); Mark Herrmann (Purdue); Clarkston Hines (Duke); Chet Moeller (Navy); Jerry Stovall (LSU); Pat Tillman (Arizona State); Alfred Williams (Colorado); and coaches Barry Alvarez (Wisconsin) and Gene Stallings (Texas A&M, Alabama).

The 2011 season marks the second season that Fidelity Investments®, a leading provider of not-for-profit workplace retirement savings plans in higher education1, will serve as the national presenting sponsor of the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes. The NFF and Fidelity recently announced an expanded multi-year initiative between the two organizations to celebrate the scholar-athlete ideal and a joint commitment to higher education. The NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes are one component the sponsorship, which also includes Fidelity being named the first presenting sponsor of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards in the 53-year history of the prestigious program.

Desmond Howard will be jointly honored by the National Football Foundation and the University of Michigan September 10 with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute during halftime of the game between Michigan and Notre Dame.

 Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 121 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Bowl, the William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. For more information, please visit