Contact theSOPAbout theSOPSupport theSOPWritersEditorsManaging Editors
theSOP logo
Published:May 18th, 2012 11:35 EST
SOP Battle of the Bands featuring The Tavares Brothers with 'Be Happy'

SOP Battle of the Bands featuring The Tavares Brothers with 'Be Happy'

By SOP newswire2

The Tavares Brothers are an offshoot of the popular group Tavares, which starting performing in 1959 as Chubby and the Turnpikes. The group included Ralph, Arthur ("Pooch"), Antoine ("Chubby"), Feliciano ("Butch") and Perry ("Tiny"). In 1967, Tavares signed with Capitol Records and had a few local hits including "I Know The Inside Story", followed by "Nothing But Promises" in 1968. By 1973, they had changed their name to Tavares and scored their first R&B Top Ten (Pop Top 40) hit with "Check It Out", which featured their brother Victor, who sang the lead. He dropped out of the group soon after.

Capitol next put Tavares with the team of Dennis Lambert and Brian Potter, who had produced the Four Tops` album Keeper of the Castle. Together, they led Tavares through two successful LPs, Hard Core Poetry and In The City, and both the group`s first #1 R&B hit, a cover of Hall and Oates` "She`s Gone" and first top 10 pop hit, "It Only Takes A Moment".
 For their next LPs, Motown veteran writer/producer Freddie Perren led Tavares to the "A" List of popular black artists. Perren led the group to a hotter, beat-heavy sound than they had ever used before. Although many of their songs in the 1970s were Top 10 R&B hits, Tavares` career was overshadowed by the disco genre songs, like "Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel" and "More Than A Woman", a song the BeeGees wrote especially for the group. When the Saturday Night Fever album was released, and was hugely popular, Tavares earned a Grammy and were labeled as a disco group, a label they spent years trying to shake.

In the 1980s, Tavares left Capitol to sign with RCA. They had one final major hit, the ballad "A Penny For Your Thoughts", for which they were nominated for a Grammy in 1982. Their last major release was Words and Music in 1983. In the same year, Ralph resigned from the group to spend more time with his family. In the mid 1990s Tiny also left the group, who continues to tour regularly, working in disco revival concerts with such great disco performers as Gloria Gaynor and KC and the Sunshine Band.

Meanwhile, Herschel Dwellingham, who had played drums for Chubby and the Turnpikes, with fellow musicians Quinn Harris, Bob Bowles, Richard Reid and Bernie Warrell, went looking for Tavares to sign them to his label, Bogue/Magic City Records. Ralph and Victor had teamed up with Quinn Harris to form The Tavares Brothers, and Herschel signed them to his label instead, to help them move in a more Pop/R&B direction. They came to Bogalusa LA in May 2011 to record the songs on their new album at Herschey`s Place of Recording. After long and careful preparation and planning, Be Happy is ready to be released digitally. This release will prove to be an blending of the spirit of Tavares with the modern sound that The Tavares Brothers embody.