Contact theSOPAbout theSOPSupport theSOPWritersEditorsManaging Editors
theSOP logo
Published:February 18th, 2007 11:16 EST
What is Love?

What is Love?

By Garrett Godwin

In Webster's Dictionary, love has four meanings: 1. A profoundly tender, passionate affection for another person.

2. An intense personal attachment or affection.

3. A person toward whom love is felt.

4. A strong enthusiasm or liking.

There are several kinds of love in our lives:

The love we have for God

The love we have for our family

The love we have for our friends -- male or female

The love we have for our husbands or our boyfriends

The love we have for our wives or our girlfriends

Love is priceless because it is more than a physical attraction between two people.  It is also spiritual due to your relationship with God.  Love is about being nonjudgmental and accepting people as they are -- good and bad -- despite their flaws.  Love is also about being faithful and loyal, compassionate, humble, sensitive, and caring.

Love is more than an emotion as well as a feeling.  Love is how we treat other people in our lives whether at home, school, work, church, or anywhere we go.  Love also shows what kind of people we are.  Love is more than words.  It is about expressing and demonstrating it to others through your actions, attitudes, and character.

Love is about forgiveness.  By doing so, you're willing to rebuild your marriage, friendship, or your relationship with your family.  You're living by these two sayings: letting bygones be bygones and bury the hatchet.  Letting go of the past, moving towards the future, and starting over.  Love is about grace, which is defined as undeserved favor: giving someone something they don't deserve from what they truly deserve.  Love is also about mercy, giving someone a pardon for what they have done. 

Love is priceless because it cannot be bought; it is free.  Love is a blessing and a gift -- one that is true, pure, and good.  Love is yesterday, today, and and forever.