Contact theSOPAbout theSOPSupport theSOPWritersEditorsManaging Editors
theSOP logo
Published:January 25th, 2007 12:07 EST
Cast of The Mary Tyler Moore Show To Reunite

Cast of The Mary Tyler Moore Show To Reunite

By SOP newswire

Los Angeles, California " The cast of the landmark TV-newsroom comedy, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, including Mary Tyler Moore, Edward Asner, Georgia Engel, Valerie Harper, Cloris Leachman, Gavin MacLeod and Betty White, will reunite to present the Actor® for Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series at the 13th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®, executive producer Jeff Margolis announced today.

TNT and TBS will simulcast the 13th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® live from the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center on Sunday, Jan. 28, at 8 p.m. ET/PT, 7 p.m. CT and 6 p.m. MT. The only industry honors voted on entirely by actors, the 13th Annual SAG Awards™ will recognize the outstanding performances of 2006 in five film and eight television categories.

The ground-breaking ensemble joins a growing roster of actors who will honor their colleagues at the Guild`s night to shine including Alec Baldwin, Annette Bening, Steve Carell, Patrick Dempsey, America Ferrera, Teri Hatcher, Anne Hathaway, Ashton Kutcher, Julia Louis Dreyfus, Kevin Nealon, Sandra Oh, Matthew Perry, SAG President Alan Rosenberg, Kyra Sedgwick, William Shatner, Kiefer Sutherland, Dick Van Dyke, Forest Whitaker and Reese Witherspoon.

Mary Tyler Moore`s portrayal of spunky Mary Richards in her hit television series from 1970-1977 earned her four of her six Emmy® Awards and a Golden Globe® Award. Moore`s appearance at this year`s Screen Actors Guild Awards also reunites her with Dick Van Dyke, with whom she starred in the classic comedy The Dick Van Dyke Show before launching her own series, and with Julie Andrews, with whom she starred in the feature Thoroughly Modern Millie.  Moore is an Oscar® nominee and Golden Globe® winner for Ordinary People.

Two-term Screen Actors Guild President Edward Asner is perhaps best known for his comedic and dramatic crossover as the gruff but soft-hearted journalist Lou Grant. The role he originated on The Mary Tyler Moore Show and continued in the newspaper-set drama Lou Grant (1977-82), earned Asner five Emmy and three Golden Globe Awards. Asner received two more Emmy and Golden Globe Awards for the miniseries Rich Man, Poor Man (1976) and Roots (1977). He was inducted into the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Hall of Fame in 1996.

Georgia Engel portrayal of ditzy Georgette on The Mary Tyler Moore Show from 1972-1977 earned her Emmy® Awards in the supporting actress category in 1976 and 1977. A three-time Emmy® nominee for her guest appearances as Pat McDougall on Everybody Loves Raymond, Engel appeared with her Mary Tyler Moore co-star Gavin MacLeod in the series pilot The New Love Boat and with SAG Awards Committee member Shelley Fabares in Coach.

Like Asner`s Lou Grant, Valerie Harper`s Rhoda Morgenstern was born on The Mary Tyler Moore Show (1970-1974) and grew to headline her own series, Rhoda, from 1974-1978. The role won Harper supporting actress Emmy Awards® in 1971, 1972 and 1973 and a lead actress Emmy® and Golden Globe® in 1975. Harper lent her own first name to her third series, Valerie (1986-87). Harper has served on Screen Actors Guild`s National Board of Directors since 2000.  Harper will be seen next in Golda`s Balcony in 2007.

Nominated for an Actor® this year for her role in Mrs. Harris, Cloris Leachman was nominated for an Actor® in 2005 for her supporting role in Spanglish and won an Oscar® in 1972 for Best Supporting Actress for The Last Picture Show. Leachman`s portrayal of Phyllis Lindstrom earned her two Emmy® Awards for The Mary Tyler Moore Show as well as a Golden Globe® Award for her spin-off series Phyllis. Leachman`s record eight Emmy® Awards also include two for her guest appearances on Malcolm in the Middle and a musical/variety Emmy® for the Screen Actors Guild 50th Anniversary Celebration.

Gavin MacLeod began his television career in 1958, made a stop aboard McHale`s Navy before creating the character of endearing news writer Murray Slaughter on The Mary Tyler Moore Show. MacLeod returned to sea from 1977 to 1986 as Capt. Merrill Stubing on The Love Boat.

Betty White`s portrayal of Sue Ann Nivens on The Mary Tyler Moore Show earned her supporting actress Emmy® Awards in 1975 and 1976. She received another Emmy® in 1986 for her starring role in the hit series The Golden Girls and a sixth Emmy® in 1996 for her guest appearance on The John Larroquette Show. Most recently, White has played recurring roles on the Actor®-nominated series Boston Legal and the daytime drama The Bold and the Beautiful. recently, White has played recurring roles on the Actor®-nominated series Boston Legal and the daytime drama The Bold and the Beautiful.

The 13th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® are produced by Jeff Margolis Productions in association with Screen Actors Guild. Jeff Margolis is the executive producer and Kathy Connell is the producer. Yale Summers, Daryl Anderson, Shelley Fabares, Paul Napier and JoBeth Williams are producers for SAG. Gloria Fujita O`Brien and Mick McCullough are supervising producers. Benn Fleishman is executive in charge of production.

Screen Actors Guild (SAG) is the nation`s largest labor union representing working actors. Established in 1933, SAG has a rich history in the American labor movement, from standing up to studios to break long-term engagement contracts in the 1940s to fighting for artists` rights amid the digital revolution sweeping the entertainment industry in the 21st century. With 20 branches nationwide, SAG represents nearly 120,000 working actors in film, television, industrials, commercials, video games, music videos and other new media. The Guild exists to enhance actors` working conditions, compensation and benefits and to be a powerful, unified voice on behalf of artists` rights. Headquartered in Los Angeles, SAG is a proud affiliate of the AFL-CIO. More information is available online at

Turner Network Television (TNT), television`s destination for drama and one of cable`s top-rated networks, offers original movies and series, including the acclaimed detective drama The Closer, starring Golden Globeâ winner and Screen Actors Guild Awardsâ nominee Kyra Sedgwick; Saving Grace, a daring new drama starring Oscar®-winner Holly Hunter; Heartland, a powerful medical drama with Treat Williams and Kari Matchett; and this summer`s eagerly anticipated television event The Company, executive-produced by Ridley Scott and starring Chris O`Donnell, Michael Keaton and Alfred Molina.  TNT is also home to powerful one-hour dramas, such as Without a Trace, Law & Order, Las Vegas, Cold Case, ER, Charmed and Judging Amy; broadcast premiere movies; compelling prime-time specials, such as the Screen Actors Guild Awardsâ; and championship sports coverage, including NASCAR and the NBA. TNT is also available in high-definition.

TBS, a division of Turner Broadcasting System, Inc., is television`s very funny " network. It serves as home to such hot contemporary comedies as Sex and the City, Everybody Loves Raymond, Family Guy, Seinfeld and Friends; original comedy series, like the comedies My Boys and 10 Items or Less; specials, like the Screen Actors Guild Awards®; special events, such as The Comedy Festival in Las Vegas, for which TBS serves as title sponsor; blockbuster movies; and hosted movie showcases.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc., a Time Warner company, is a major producer of news and entertainment product around the world and a leading provider of programming for the television industry.

13TH ANNUAL SCREEN ACTORS GUILD AWARDS®  Â· 1401 Westwood Boulevard  Â· Suite 300 ·  Los Angeles, CA 90024