Contact theSOPAbout theSOPSupport theSOPWritersEditorsManaging Editors
theSOP logo
Published:January 6th, 2007 07:40 EST
Pacific Fleet submarines selected for 2006 Battle E awards

Pacific Fleet submarines selected for 2006 Battle E awards

By SOP newswire

PEARL HARBOR, Hawaii (NNS) -- Commander, Submarine Force Pacific Fleet, Rear Adm. Joseph Walsh announced the winners of the 2006 Battle Efficiency Awards (Battle “E”) for the Pacific Fleet Submarine Force, Dec. 31, 2006.

Three Pearl Harbor based nuclear-powered attack submarines were selected for the award, including USS La Jolla (SSN 701), from Submarine Squadron One, which received the award for the second year in a row. USS Chicago (SSN 721) and USS Tucson (SSN 770) from Submarine Squadron’s Three and Seven, respectively, were the other Pearl Harbor-based winners.

Capt. Stephen Marr, Commodore, Submarine Squadron One presented La Jolla’s second consecutive Battle “E” on Friday, Jan. 5, to Cmdr. Nelson Hildreth, her commanding officer.

“The fact that you won the award two years in a row epitomizes your superior work ethic,” Marr said.

According to Rear Adm. Walsh, this year’s competition was very tough and each winner achieved the highest readiness to carry out their missions.

“Each crew member of an award winner can be justifiably proud of their contribution to improve Pacific Submarine Force readiness,” he said.

Other Pacific Fleet submarines receiving the Battle “E” were USS Jefferson City (SSN 759) and the Floating Dry Dock Arco (ARDM-5) in San Diego; USS Houston (SSN 713) and USS Frank Cable (AS 40) in Guam; and USS Kentucky (SSBN 737) and USS Nevada (SSBN 733) in Bangor, Wash.

The Battle “E” award recognizes sustained superior performance in all areas of combat readiness. As part of the competition, ships compete for command excellence in four combat areas; maritime warfare,
engineering/survivability, command and control, and logistics management. To receive the nod for battle efficiency, a ship must excel in all four areas.

For related news, visit the Commander, Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet Navy NewsStand page at


By Mass Communications Specialst 1st Class (SW) Cynthia Clark, COMSUBPAC Public Affairs