Contact theSOPAbout theSOPSupport theSOPWritersEditorsManaging Editors
theSOP logo
Published:January 13th, 2006 06:27 EST
T. Wood's Sport Show host, Todd Wood sits down with Tommy  Lasorda

T. Wood's Sport Show host, Todd Wood sits down with Tommy Lasorda

By Todd Wood

Tommy Lasorda was elected into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1997. Lasorda becomes just the 14th Hall of Famer in major league history to be elected as a manager, joining Dodger managers Walter Alston, Casey Stengel, Leo Durocher, Wilbert Robinson, and Ned Hanlon. Dodger player Al Lopez and Bucky Harris, Miller Huggins. Connie Mack, Joe McCarthy, John McGraw, Bill McKechnie, and Earl Weaver. Lasorda joins Lopez and Weaver as the only living Hall of Fame managers.

"Tommy deserves this recognition," said Dodgers President Peter O'Malley. "The one word that describes Tommy best is enthusiasm. That spirit was always there for his players, the fans, and the game of baseball, and I'm very happy for him."

"Tommy Lasorda's selection to the Hall of Fame is a dream come true for Tommy and for the Dodger organization" said Dodgers Executive Vice President Fred Claire. "Tommy has served the Dodgers as a player. scout, minor league manager and major league manager. He has made friends and fans every step of the way and I am delighted that those steps now lead to Cooperstown."

Lasorda began managing the Dodgers on September 29, 1976 when Alston announced his retirement after 23 seasons. Lasorda managed the Dodgers for 20 seasons before retiring on July 29, 1996. Only three other managers have managed one team for 20 years: Mack (50 seasons with Philadelphia); McGraw (31 seasons with the N.Y. Giants): and Alston (23 seasons with the Dodgers).

Lasorda finished his managerial career with a 1,599-1,439 record. He led his Dodger teams to two World Championships, four National pennants, and atop the Western Division eight different seasons. He became the only the second manager in N.L. history to win league titles in his first two seasons as manager in 1977-78 joining St. Louis' Gabby Street who did so in 1930-31.