Contact theSOPAbout theSOPSupport theSOPWritersEditorsManaging Editors
theSOP logo
Published:January 11th, 2007 10:48 EST
Sullivan County Designated For Public Assistance

Sullivan County Designated For Public Assistance

By SOP newswire

ALBANY, N.Y. -- Disaster assistance has been made available for Sullivan County to help local governments, state agencies, and certain private non-profits recover from the effects of the November 16-17 severe storms and flooding in New York, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer, Marianne C. Jackson, said the county was added to the list of eligible jurisdictions based on a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. The previously designated counties include Broome, Chenango, Delaware, Hamilton, Herkimer, Montgomery, Otsego and Tioga counties.

“Working to restore vital community services as quickly as possible is part of our continuing commitment to help New York achieve a full and lasting recovery from the November flash floods of November 16 and 17,” Jackson said.

FEMA said affected local governments in Sullivan County are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged public facilities.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be announced shortly by state and federal disaster officials.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.