Contact theSOPAbout theSOPSupport theSOPWritersEditorsManaging Editors
theSOP logo
Published:April 9th, 2007 09:57 EST
IRS and Alabama Extend Tax Deadline to April 30 for Disaster Counties

IRS and Alabama Extend Tax Deadline to April 30 for Disaster Counties

By SOP newswire

MONTGOMERY, Ala. -- The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and the State of Alabama have extended tax filing deadlines until April 30 for those living in the seven Alabama counties declared federal disaster areas as a result of the March 1 storms: Coffee, Dale, Dallas, Henry, Jefferson, Montgomery and Wilcox.

Information regarding the IRS extension:

  • Taxpayers can claim damage and personal property losses on their 2006 return, even though the storm hit in 2007.
  • If you have filed your 2006 return, you may file an amended return to receive early tax benefits.
  • Claiming the loss on an original or amended return for 2006 will get the taxpayer an earlier refund, but waiting to claim the loss on a 2007 return could result in a greater tax savings, depending on other income factors, according to the IRS.

Information regarding the Alabama tax extensions:

  • Alabama extensions apply to tax returns and taxes/fees that would have been due on or after March 1, 2007, and before April 30, 2007, for individuals and many types of businesses according to the Alabama Department of Revenue.

For IRS information, go to or call (800) 829-1040.

For Alabama information, go to or call (800) 242-1099.

You can register for disaster assistance by calling FEMA’s toll free line at (800) 621-FEMA (3362) 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday. The TTY number is (800) 462-7585 for those who are speech or hearing impaired. Applicants can also register online at

FEMA coordinates the federal government’s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.