Contact theSOPAbout theSOPSupport theSOPWritersEditorsManaging Editors
theSOP logo
Published:April 16th, 2008 05:40 EST

Presidential Rank Awards presented to senior AF civilians

By SOP newswire2

by Senior Master Sgt. Matt Proietti
Secretary of the Air Force Public Affairs

Air Force officials recognized the career achievements of 20 senior civilians April 14 during the annual Presidential Rank Awards Ceremony at Arlington National Cemetery.

"Our distinguished winners are products of a lifetime of dedication to their trade (and) the Air Force," said Secretary of the Air Force Michael W. Wynne, who officiated with Air Force Vice Chief of Staff Gen. Duncan J. McNabb. "They contribute each in their own way."

The ceremony was held in an auditorium at the Women in Military Service for America Memorial.

Speaking for all the recipients, Gary B. Richey said they have appreciated the opportunity spend their careers serving the nation.

"We've had great leadership opportunities in the greatest Air Force the world has ever known and the chance to work in the cause of liberty and a crucial time in our history," said Mr. Richey, director of logistics, installations and mission support at Headquarters Air Education and Training Command at Randolph Air Force Base, Texas.

Mr. Richey, who was named a distinguished senior executive, was formerly executive director of the Oklahoma City Air Logistics Center at Tinker AFB, Okla., for three years. 

The awards feature two categories: distinguished and meritorious. Nominations are evaluated by boards of private citizens and approved by the president. 

Distinguished rank recipients receive a lump-sum payment of 35 percent of their basic pay, while meritorious rank recipients receive 20 percent of basic pay. All receive a framed certificate signed by the president. 

Bruce S. Lemkin, a retired naval officer who is now deputy under secretary of the Air Force for international affairs at the Pentagon, said the meritorious senior executive award he received is in "recognition of what my team has done" in building a great relationship between the Air Force and foreign air forces.

In addition to Mr. Richey and Mr. Lemkin, also honored were:

Distinguished senior executive:

William Maikisch, retired executive director of the Space and Missile Systems Center, Los Angeles AFB, Calif.

Distinguished senior professionals:

Dr. Alan Garscadden, chief scientist of the Propulsion Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio;

John M. "Michael" Kretzer, technical director through June 2007 of the Air Force Information and Operations Center, Lackland AFB, Texas.

Meritorious senior executives:

Timothy A. Beyland, the Air Force's assistant deputy chief of staff for Manpower and Personnel at the Pentagon;

Heidi H. Grant, director of resources requirements, budget and assessments, Headquarters U.S. Central Command, MacDill AFB, Fla.;

Gary R. Harvey, associate director for intelligence at Headquarters Air Combat Command, Langley AFB, Va.;

Charles B. Jackson, retired director of the 326th Aeronautical Systems Wing, Aeronautical Systems Center, Wright-Patterson AFB;

Ann-Cecile M. McDermott, director of financial management and comptroller at the Aeronautical Systems Center, Wright-Patterson AFB;

Ernest A. Parada, retired director of the 84th Combat Sustainment Wing at Ogden Air Logistics Center, Hill AFB, Utah;

Gerald F. Pease, executive director of the Department of Defense Policy Board on Federal Aviation and deputy director of operations for the deputy chief of staff for operations, plans and requirements at the Pentagon;

Brenda L. Romine, director of the 542nd Combat Sustainment Wing, Warner-Robins Air Logistics Center, Robins AFB, Ga.;

Dr. Hendrick W. Ruck, retired director of the Human Effectiveness Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory at Wright-Patterson AFB;

Judy A. Stokley, deputy Air Force program executive officer for weapons and executive director of the Air Armament Center, Eglin AFB, Fla.;

Thomas S. Wells, director of contracting for Headquarters Air Force Materiel Command, Wright-Patterson AFB.

Meritorious senior professionals:

Dr. Kenneth R. Boff, retired chief scientist of the Human Effectiveness Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson AFB;

Gary A. O'Connell, chief scientist of the National Air and Space Intelligence Center, Wright-Patterson AFB;

Dr. Sheldon L. Semiatin, senior scientist for materials processing and processing science at the Materials and Manufacturing Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson AFB;

Randall G. Walden, technical director of the Special Programs Rapid Capabilities Office, Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Acquisition at the Pentagon. 

Comment on this story  (comments may be published on Air Force Link)

View the comments/letters page 

SOURCE:  US Air Force