Contact theSOPAbout theSOPSupport theSOPWritersEditorsManaging Editors
theSOP logo
Published:June 22nd, 2006 10:46 EST
Congress Has Authorized $5.2 billion For Disaster Relief To Florida

Congress Has Authorized $5.2 billion For Disaster Relief To Florida

By SOP newswire

Dear Floridians,

I am pleased to report that Congress has authorized $5.2 billion for disaster relief to Florida and other states hit by hurricanes last year. The funding is included in the just-passed Iraq war funding supplemental bill.

These federal funds are especially important to communities in the Panhandle that were hit hard by Hurricane Dennis. Although previous Federal disaster relief excluded damage caused by this storm, this new funding will help all communities damaged by storms last year, including Dennis, Rita, Katrina, and Wilma.

The relief will come in the form of disaster Community Development Block Grants (CDBGs), with the Department of Housing and Urban Development allocating the funds among eligible states. CDBG funds are often used for long-term recovery efforts, housing and business assistance, infrastructure reconstruction, mitigation efforts, and public services.

The following counties are eligible for the funds: Bay, Brevard, Broward, Calhoun, Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Dixie, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Glades, Gulf, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Holmes, Indian River, Jackson, Jefferson, Lee, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Okaloosa, Okeechobee, Osceola, Palm Beach, Polk, Santa Rosa, Sarasota, St. Lucie, Taylor, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington.


Bill Nelson
U.S. Senator

Comment regarding this or any other issue here:

Learn more about Senator Nelson and his work in the U.S. Senate here: