Contact theSOPAbout theSOPSupport theSOPWritersEditorsManaging Editors
theSOP logo
Published:January 7th, 2010 14:43 EST
A Mystic`s Path: The Seven Chakras

A Mystic`s Path: The Seven Chakras

By Sean Beelzebul

The Chakras in many forms of Hinduism are spiritual centers of spirit energy which flow through the spinal column. The Chakras are said to function as a sixth sense of insight for the sage. In other traditions throughout the globe, their exists similar types of energies.

In Buddhism, especially Tibetan Buddhism five Chakras are detailed, and even described through Vajrayana art. In Taoism the spiritual stuff is dubbed Qi, and is the vital force that guides beings to harmony with the Tao.

In Christianity, God is often a tri-fold deity of Father, Son and Holy Ghost. It is the Holy Ghost or Holy Spirit which I consider to bear the closest resemblance to the Kundalini energy filling the seven Chakras in Hinduism. This article will attempt to relate these seven Chakras to a broader mystical worldview.

In other works I have described how the seven primordial deities of every mythic civilization are representative of the five visible planets, the Moon and the Sun. The Roman God Jupiter for example, is Zeus in Greek, and Marduk in Babylonian mythology. I believe that these seven primordial deities are also representative of the seven Chakras. The following will define these connections:

1)      The Sun: This celestial sphere appears to me to represent Muladhara chakra at the base of the spine. This Chakra governs the flow of Kundalini energy as the Sun shines its light and creates life on Earth.

2)      Mercury: This planet represents the Svadhisthana Chakra behind the Genitals, the fiery ambitions of lust and creation. Mercury, the messenger informs the sage of basic needs and decisions.

3)      Venus: The Manipura Chakra appears to me to be most symbolic of Venus the Goddess of Love and War. This chakra located behind the navel, rules over many emotions and is said to be the end of fear. Governing power in one`s life, the Manipura Chakra is like the noble Aphrodite, which governs opportunity.

4)      Moon: The Anahata Chakra is the heart Chakra. This Chakra represents compassion and oneness with the divine. Like the Moon`s cycles, the heart governs the most complicated of emotion.

5)      Mars: The war god is the Vishuddha Chakra located at the base of the neck. This Chakra enables the sage to sympathize with other beings, Much like how the God Ares (Mars) rules over interpersonal relationships and warfare.

6)      Jupiter: The largest planet, and heroic leader in many polytheistic systems is comparable to the Ajna center, or Third Eye " Chakra. This Chakra governs creativity and the manifestation of human reality much like how the God Zeus (Jupiter) created many of the other Gods in the Greek Pantheon.

7)      Saturn: The crown Chakra or Sahasrara, rules over consciousness and the issues of karma, and life and death. Saturn or Kronos in Greek Mythology, is the great creator and destroyer, mischievous and difficult to fathom. In much the same way, consciousness is the most difficult thing for the sage to wield and perfect, and can cause deleterious damage if used incorrectly.